Our Ministers

Direct reports

The Department of Internal Affairs reports to seven Ministerial portfolios or responsibility areas, seven Ministers and one Vote.

Hon Tracey Martin (link to Beehive website)

  • Minister of Internal Affairs*

*The Internal Affairs portfolio includes responsibility for Archives New Zealand and the New Zealand National Library.

Hon Chris Hipkins (link to Beehive website)

  • Minister Responsible for Ministerial Services

Hon Nanaia Mahuta (link to Beehive website)

  • Minister of Local Government

Rt Hon Winston Peters (link to Beehive website)

  • Minister for Racing

Hon Jenny Salesa (link to Beehive website)

  • Minister for Ethnic Communities

Hon Poto Williams (link to Parliament website)

  • Minister for the Community and Voluntary Sector

Hon Kris Faafoi (link to Beehive website)

  • Minister for Government Digital Services

Responsibilities to other Ministers

The Department is responsible to the Minister of Finance, Hon Grant Robertson in respect of community trusts (12 regional trusts that distribute resources to local communities from the proceeds of the sale of Trustee Banks) and to the Minister Foreign Affairs, Rt Hon Winston Peters for the Peace and Disarmament Education Trust and the Pacific Development and Conservation Trust.

Briefings to Incoming Ministers

View Briefings to incoming ministers

Further information

View further information on the New Zealand Cabinet, including Ministerial speeches, media releases and policies (www.beehive.govt.nz).