Statutory Bodies

The Department of Internal Affairs is responsible for administering appointments, and in many cases providing secretariat services, for approximately 50 statutory bodies.

See also information about Appointments to statutory bodies.

Crown entities

The performance of these Crown entities is monitored by the Policy, Regulation and Communities branch of the Department of Internal Affairs. 

Minister of Internal Affairs

Minister of Local Government

The performance of Taumata Arowai is monitored by the Three Waters team in the Local Government branch of the Department of Internal Affairs.

Other statutory bodies

The Department oversees the following statutory bodies listed by responsible Minister.

Minister of Internal Affairs

Minister for the Community and Voluntary Sector

Minister for Ethnic Communities

Minister of Local Government

Minister for Racing

Associate Minister of Finance

                  • Community Trusts 
                    12 Trusts:
                    • Foundation North
                    • Bay of Plenty Community Trust
                    • Trust Waikato
                    • TSB Trust
                    • Whanganui Community Trust
                    • Eastern and Central Community Trust
                    • Wellington Community Trust
                    • Rātā Foundation
                    • Community Trust of Mid and South Canterbury
                    • Otago Community Trust
                    • West Coast Community Trust
                    • Community Trust South

Minister of Foreign Affairs