Our Ministers

Direct reports

The Department of Internal Affairs reports to seven Ministerial portfolios or responsibility areas, five Ministers and one Vote.

Hon Barbara Edmonds (link to Beehive website)

  • Minister of Internal Affairs*

*The Internal Affairs portfolio includes responsibility for Archives New Zealand and the New Zealand National Library.

RT Hon Chris Hipkins (link to Beehive website)

  • Minister Responsible for Ministerial Services

Hon Kieran McAnulty (link to Beehive website)

  • Minister of Local Government
  • Minister for Racing

Hon Ginny Andersen (link to Beehive website)

  • Minister for Digital Economy and Communications

Hon Priyanca Radhakrishnan (link to Beehive website)

  • Minister for the Community and Voluntary Sector
  • Minister for Diversity, Inclusion and Ethnic Communities

Responsibilities to other Ministers

The Department is responsible to the Minister of Finance, Hon Grant Robertson in respect of community trusts (12 regional trusts that distribute resources to local communities from the proceeds of the sale of Trustee Banks) and to the Minister Foreign Affairs, Hon Nanaia Mahuta for the Peace and Disarmament Education Trust and the Pacific Development and Conservation Trust.

Briefings to Incoming Ministers

View Briefings to incoming ministers

Further information

View further information on the New Zealand Cabinet, including Ministerial speeches, media releases and policies (www.beehive.govt.nz).