Navigable rivers

The only rivers which can be navigated by small vessels are:

  • Waikato
  • Tongariro (in its delta region only)
  • Tauranga-Taupō
  • Waihaha
  • Kuratau (at its mouth only)

A strict 5 knot speed restriction applies, with the exception of the Waikato River above the Control Gates where the speed limit is 3 knots out as far as the wooden marker piles, or no wake.