Working Groups 

On this page

The Government is establishing three independent working groups to refine elements of the Three Waters Reform programme.

Working group papers and agenda will be published on this page.

Working Group on Representation, Governance and Accountability of new Water Services Entities

This working group is comprised of representatives from local government and iwi/Maori, and will consider how representation, governance and accountability arrangements for water services entities can be strengthened.

The Government has agreed to provide an exposure draft of the Water Services Entities Bill (PDF, 588KB) to the Working Group for consideration as part of its work. The Bill is expected to go to Select Committee next year, and people can make submissions on the Bill at that time.

The Working Group will report back to the Minister by 28 February, which will enable Ministers to consider recommendations arising from the Working Group process before the Bill is introduced.

The members are:



Independent Chairperson

Doug Martin

Iwi/Māori representatives

Ngarimu Blair (Entity A)

Huhana Lyndon (Entity A)

Jamie Tuuta (Entity B)

Karen Vercoe (Entity B)

Ngahiwi Tomoana (Entity C)

Olivia Hall (Entity C)

Gabrielle Huria (Entity D)

Barry Bragg (Entity D)

Tukuroirangi Morgan (Additional representative)

Elected members of local authorities (2 from each entity)

Mayor Phil Goff, Auckland (Entity A)

Mayor Dr Jason Smith, Kaipara (Entity A)

Mayor Garry Webber, Western Bay of Plenty (Entity B)

Mayor Neil Holdom, New Plymouth (Entity B)

Mayor Campbell Barry, Lower Hutt (Entity C)

Mayor Rachel Reese, Nelson (Entity C)

Mayor Lianne Dalziel, Christchurch (Entity D)

Mayor Tim Cadogan, Central Otago (Entity D)

Mayor Mayor Lyn Patterson, Masterton (Rural/Provincial sector representative)

Chair of the joint Central-Local Government Three Waters Steering Committee

Brian Hanna

Individual members may have individual local authority or iwi interests, but they will represent the interests of those facing similar issues and circumstances and consider national as well as local interests.

The Working Group held its first meeting on 26 November and is due to report back by 28 February 2022.  

Relevant documents

Planning Technical Working Group

As water infrastructure is a key component of the planning system water services entities will need to interact with the resource management system to deliver on the outcomes set by councils through their planning documents.

The Planning Technical Working Group will provide advice to DIA to support policy development related to the intersection between the role and functions of the new Water Service Entities (WSEs) and the resource management system.

The working group will meet monthly.

Rural Supplies Technical Working Group

The recently passed Water Services Act will require all drinking water suppliers, other than domestic self-suppliers, to provide safe drinking water and meet drinking water standards. This is to ensure all communities receive safe drinking water, no matter where they live or who supplies this service.

The Rural Supplies Technical Working Group will develop principles and agree how parties will work together to manage the impacts on rural drinking water suppliers and rural communities, and develop recommendations to inform advice to Ministers on proposed legislation.

The working group will meet monthly.