Local Government Cyclone Response Unit

The Department of Internal Affairs hosts a Local Government Cyclone Response Unit. This dedicated working group comprises senior leadership from DIA’s Local Government Branch, from the Taituarā — Local Government Professionals Aotearoa and Local Government New Zealand (LGNZ).

Consultation for the Severe Weather Emergency Recovery Legislation Act 2023

This consultation CLOSED on 10 May 2023.

The Department consulted on an Order in Council to make eight temporary amendments to three local government Acts:

  • Local Government Act 2002
  • Local Government (Rating) Act 2002
  • Local Government (Financial reporting and prudence) Regulations 2014

These amendments propose to simplify legislative processes, extend statutory timeframes for key documents to be published, and allow councils to continue to collect rates and provide services to the community in an efficient and effective manner.

The Order will apply to the following Councils: Gisborne (Tairawhiti) District Council, Central Hawke’s Bay District Council, Wairoa District Council, Hawke’s Bay Regional Council and Thames-Coromandel District Council.