Jurisdictions under Increased Monitoring

Return to News and Information

28 March 2024

It’s important that you remain up to date with jurisdictions named on the Financial Action Taskforce (FATF) “black and grey” lists.

At its February plenary, FATF updated its list of Jurisdictions under Increased Monitoring (known as the “grey list”). Two countries were added to this list; Kenya and Namibia.

Jurisdictions under increased monitoring are actively working with the FATF to address strategic deficiencies in their regimes to counter money laundering, terrorist financing, and proliferation financing. Four countries were removed from the grey list, following successful on-site visits – Barbados, Gibraltar, Uganda, and the United Arab Emirates.

FATF also identified countries that have serious deficiencies in their AML/CFT regimes, known as Jurisdictions subject to a call for action, or the “Black” list. The Democratic People’s Republic of North Korea, Iran and Myanmar remain the only jurisdictions on this list.