The Department of Internal Affairs

The Department of Internal Affairs

Te Tari Taiwhenua

Building a safe, prosperous and respected nation


Daylight Saving Dates

These dates are calculated under the New Zealand Daylight Time Order 2007.

Any changes to the Order will likely change these dates. You may wish to check closer to the time before relying on this information.

  • Daylight Saving ended on Sunday 3 April 2016 (clocks went went back one hour)
  • Daylight Saving will begin again on Sunday 25 September 2016 (clocks go forward one hour)
2016 3 April 25 September
2017 2 April 24 September
2018 1 April 30 September
2019 7 April 29 September
2020 5 April 27 September

If you have enquiries about daylight saving, please email